killodd.blogg.se

Carvin guitars amps
Carvin guitars amps








carvin guitars amps

You're influence on the waveform is graphically illustrated via the shape. I find an onboard graphic the single greatest asset an amp can offer you (one of the reasons I also admire Boogies) and this goes double when dealing with active- additive and subtractive- tone controls. Well yes-if you're having difficulty using a graphic, especially on an active amp, your tone won't please you and everything flows out of that. I can never quite figure out what to do with a second gain channel anyway. It would basically have all the features I like from both amps, and only two channels, because I like the simplicity of two channels. If I were to have the perfect amp it would have the Legacy 3's clean channel and the X100B's gain channel, only with even more gain than it has. However, overall I think the tones you get out of the X100B beat the Legacy. I tried EQ'ing the amp's clean channel to match the Legacy 3's and see how it affects the sound of my pedals one time and I don't think it's possible. The clean channel sounds good, but so does the Legacy 3's, and that amp is more pedal-friendly. Also, no matter how I EQ the clean channel it just does not sound right with a distortion pedal. I'm not a big fan of graphic EQ's because they are more complicated than plain knobs. Pros: Great clean (not as good as the Legacy 3's) and gain channel, footswitchable effects loopĬons: I find the amp to actually be fairly difficult to EQ. Pros: Great clean channel, works well with OD/distortion pedalsĬons: Gain channel EQ is not very flexible (I don't mind the bass/midrange thing the amp has going, but being able to dial it out and get a tone more along the lines of the X100B would be nice, and more presence as well), effects loop is not footswitchable

#CARVIN GUITARS AMPS SERIES#

I own both the X100B Series IV and the Legacy 3 and there are things I like and don't like about both. It's the better half and positive core of a Legacy at its best. which is why I would just grab an X Amp instead if I didn't have one.

carvin guitars amps

propping up a dirty rhythm line with clean accents/strumming behind it is something I do constantly in the studio (ie Lifetime Headache, playing the M22 clean against the M22SD distorted and crunching out front).Īnyhow, I have heard some negative stuff on these Legacy's even from die hard Carvinites. A good clean sound is so key in recording, even in heavy songs with distortion out front. I've always been a 6L6 guy anyway because thick cleans are a core, basic requirement for me so it's not something I want or need but I think it's great it's there. I also like the adjustable bias being built in making a switch to an EL series easier if desired. The X100 head can easily give Fender a run for their money on the clean channel. They seem to have kept the basic guts of the amp while adding options to burn a little hotter without modding or dropping pedals in front and wasting that incredible clean channel for those who need total grit saturation. I love my vintage XV212c from the 6L6 tolex (pre-fuzzy) era, but I do like what they've done to it for the more modern crowd. I would just grab a Series 4 X100B instead anyhow if I needed a main all around amp. After that, I just said "PASS" on the Legacy 3 The replacement they sent me had defective MIDI switching too, but in a different way. I had a Legacy 3 for about 2 weeks 3 years ago and I sent it back because the MIDI switching was defective. I've seen Steve use a Legacy in plenty of videos, but never a Legacy 2, and most of the time it looks like the Legacy 3s are just on stage for show.

carvin guitars amps

I always saw the initial run of Legacys as X100b's under the hood, hot-modded and tuned to his wishes, but again, a 100b like he used with Frank and on some of his early stuff. Does he NOT use his Legacys out on stage at least here and there? Some of the time? Maybe in a clinic or two (if he does them again, I haven't followed Vai in a VERY long time)? Or is it just a bald faced "buy it because my name is on it but I'll never play it" sorta deal (like so many endorsement deals)?. Doctor Turn wrote:I haven't followed Stevie in a dog's age.










Carvin guitars amps